Sunday, December 30, 2012

Moratoria and Bans on Uranium Exploration and Mining - in effect



Canada flag

British Columbia

On April 24, 2008, British Columbia imposed a ban on uranium exploration.
> View regulatory issues On February 27, 1980, the B.C. Minister of Mines had announced a seven-year moratorium on the recording of mineral claims for the purpose of uranium exploration and the development of uranium deposits on existing claims. The moratorium expired in 1987.

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia has had a moratorium on uranium exploration and mining since 1982. If a company finds uranium in concentrations greater than 100 parts per million, it must report those results and stop digging.
> View regulatory issues

USA flag

Navajo Nation

On April 29, 2005, Navajo Nation President Joseph Shirley Jr. signed the Diné Natural Resources Protection Act of 2005 that outlaws uranium mining and processing on the Navajo reservation.
> View regulatory issues

Grand Canyon area, Arizona

Interior Secretary Ken Salazar formally signed a 20-year moratorium on new uranium and other hard rock mining claims on a million acres of federal lands around the Grand Canyon on January 9, 2012.
> View current issues

Hualapai Tribe

The Hualapai Tribal Council has voted to ban uranium mining on its Tribal lands which are located near the Grand Canyon in Arizona.
> View current issues


Uranium mining has been barred in Virginia by a 25-year-old moratorium.
> View current issues

Denmark flag / Greenland flag

Greenland doesn't allow any uranium mining or prospecting to take place on the island. On Nov. 27, 2008, however, the Greenland parliament agreed to support the extraction of uranium as a by-product from mines where other minerals are the primary target (view details).

Ireland flag

Uranium prospection licenses denied in Donegal